The Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions Notifies Municipalities of NJ Drought Watch Declaration

According to Jennifer Coffey of the Association of New Jersey Environmental Commissions, fourteen NJ counties have been escalated from a drought watch to warning, and four counties remain at drought watch status because of persistent low rainfall, approximately 13 inches below normal.

Drought Warning: Bergen, Essex, Hudson, Hunterdon, Mercer, Middlesex, Monmouth, Morris, Ocean, Passaic, Somerset, Sussex, Union, and Warren

Drought Watch: Burlington, Camden, Gloucester, and Salem counties.

Normal: Atlantic, Cumberland, Cape May counties

ANJEC is asking your municipal officials and public works departments to skip lawn watering and post the drought watch declaration on your municipal website and community bulletin boards.

ANJEC recommends water conservation throughout the Garden State. Groundwater sources and streams are classified as moderately, severely or extremely dry for the entire state.

Please conserve water by:
• Cease lawn watering and washing of cars
• Fix any in home leaks, including leaking faucets, shower heads, and toilets.
• For more water saving tips, visit:

Ask Governor Christie to release the Water Supply Plan
Christie sits on water plan as N.J.’s drought affects drinking water

Join the SaveH2OCoalition’s efforts and sign the petition to the Governor at:

Thank you for your conservation efforts!

Post a comment or leave a trackback: Trackback URL.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: